Meal Planning and Sunday Dinner-Greek Chicken

I’m not fond of meal planning. I know some people love it, but making a grocery list and meal planning is one of my dreaded chores. I’m not too fond of budgeting either. Seeing my money dwindle before it even hits my bank account is depressing.

Anyways, my days are usually categorized to make meal planning easier.
It goes something like this:
Monday: pasta dish/meatless/quick  AKA spaghetti night
Tuesday: Taco/Tortilla night, take-out, ethnic
Wednesday: crockpot, sandwiches, leftovers
Thursday: chicken or pork dish, frozen/pre-prepped meal
Friday: new recipe, beef, whatever is left in freezer
Saturday: pizza night, quick dish
Sunday: Family dinner-anything goes

I have a dry-erase board with the days of the week that hangs on a wall in my kitchen with my monthly calendar under that. I write my weekly meal plan on that. Sometimes I stick to it, sometimes I don’t. I usually have at least 2 back-up “meals” in my freezer.

This past Sunday was family dinner. I made a lovely Greek braised chicken thigh dish from The Wanderlust Kitchen.
I buy chicken thighs whenever I can. They are versatile, cheap and my husband loves chicken and rice.

This dish was done in my Dutch oven. It’s really easy to do. If I can cook something while drinking wine and not mess it up, then you can definitely rock it out. The only thing is if you have distractions in your house aka kids, then you might want to start a little early. They need time to slowly cook. Use your meat thermometer to check for doneness.

I did some things differently.

First of all, the wine. I bought a lovely low alcohol bottle of Moscato D’Asti. I only used 1/4 cup of that and maybe another 1/4-1/2 cup of chicken broth for my liquid. The Moscato is sweet and slightly bubbly. I bought the Cupcake brand and drank a fourth of the bottle.

I added carrots to this, which was divine. I don’t buy bulbs of garlic anymore because I forget about them. I buy the garlic in the jar, which I usually grab at Aldi. I keep it in the fridge and then I always have garlic. Simple for my busy life.

I used canned black and kalamata olives, but no feta. Clark cannot have dairy.

I actually bought a fresh lemon and oregano which is surprising for me. I say if you can afford to do that, it is worth it.

This dish looks so fancy when it’s served with the onion mixture on the bottom of a dish and the chicken, lemons and oregano on top. Of course I don’t own serving plates so mine was put in a foil pan.
I roasted some potatoes with this and it made a great meal. Clark approved, though he loves olives and roasted potatoes.

Joshua ate a grilled cheese.

I highly recommend grabbing some of that wine and a crème pie afterwards. It makes the ending much more fabulous.

I forgot to take a picture of dinner. I was busy with kids and my pie.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

