When you see yourself in your child and realize things have to change

As some of you may know I have a 6 year old with ADHD, SPD, developmental delays, a chromosome 20p duplication of unknown significance and a possible NVLD. In many ways he’s a typical little boy and in others he’s simply not. I see a lot of myself in him and quite frankly that scares me.

He’s an enigma of impulsiveness. He is the politician of the 6 year olds, talking his way out of things with illogical debates like because he is Darth Vader he doesn’t have to go to bed.

I see myself in all that.

When I was his age I used to touch the clothes in the store because I liked the soft fabrics. He does this too. It irks me and I’m not sure why. Is it because I’m an adult and I know I’m not supposed to frolic down the aisles touching all the clothes or because I don’t want to have to explain my child to other people? This is something my counselor and I are working on getting to the bottom of.

Support groups on Facebook have been invaluable. The sensory processing disorder parent support group has a great article on being an SPD parent, You know you’re a sensory parent when..

This really helped me understand everything that my son is going through. It also helped confirm that we are not alone.

All of these things and more have helped me realize that there needs to be some change. So I have started the Triple P program. I am going to be trained up to level 4 to help my son, and myself.

I don’t know if my husband is going to be on board with this because he doesn’t necessarily agree with the program. I can’t really do it alone, but if I must then I will.

My bipolar disorder and Joshua’s ADHD and SPD are not so different. We both experience a lot of the same problems.

There has to be some change for both of us to cope and have that loving relationship.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

